Dear All

Please see the attached link to view the minutes from the South West Cyclo-cross League AGM which was held via Zoom on Tuesday 20th April 2021.

Along with the minutes, you will find a report from our Chair, Lester Young, Treasurer’s report from Miles Earl and a document describing the Origins of the SWCX compiled by Roy Wyle-Smith. There are now no original committee members remaining and this document provides everyone with the details of how the league was started and what made it what it is today.

This is my final post as SWCX League Secretary and I would like to take this opportunity to thank riders and committee members for their support over the last few years. Thank you to Chris Mabey who was Chair and Vice Chair during my time on the committee and Gary Andrews for his huge support in me becoming a commissaire. Special thanks go to the following out-going committee members:

Graham Garnsworthy for all his work on the league Facebook page.

Marcus Durant for running the league website as well as league registration, gridding, league standings and supporting myself in my secretary role.

Mark Deakin for his years of dedication to the league and for allowing me to take on his role as secretary and supporting me throughout.

The Legend that is Lester Young, who to me is ‘Cross! Lester and his partner Trish have supported the league since the beginning and Lester took on the role of Chair at an extremely difficult time, making a hard decision of running no events to protect the safety of all those involved and the general public. 

Graham Edwards, without whom (and Roy Wyle-Smith) we would not have this amazing South West Cyclo-cross League. Graham and Roy started this league back in 2002 and dedicated so much of their lives to grow the sport in the area for so many of us. Thank you both for helping us all experience cyclo-cross in the South West. Thank you Graham for being a mentor and a friend to me.

I feel very privileged to have been part of building Cyclo-cross in the South West and I wish you all the very best for the future.

Julie Mahoney

SWCX League Secretary