Commissaire is the generic term for an official in competitive cycling, approximately equivalent to umpires or referees in other sports.  The vast majority of cycling events require two or more commissaires to fulfil a variety of roles, including supervising pre-and post-race formalities, briefing riders and race officials, checking the compliance of equipment, monitoring compliance with the rules and maintaining safety during racing, resolving disputes and judging results.  Sitting as a panel they serve as a "race jury" chaired by the Chief Commissaire to resolve contentious decisions, although this term is now deprecated.  The Chief Commissaire or President of the Commissaires' Panel is the holder of ultimate authority over the event. 

Commissaires' administrative duties include checking riders' eligibility to compete and filing results and reports on race organisation, incidents and penalties.

Site registration allows you to edit your own events page. If you would like to take advantage of this feature, please use the Contact form & we will set up your own personal site access.



Some of them race, some of them don't, they all give their time and effort for free and are constantly striving to provide a better experience for everyone. Please support your league in any way you can, without it's volunteers it wouldn't happen. Please feel free to get involved and add your support. All meetings are open and we welcome new input and participation.

Current league organisation positions are listed below, please use the contact form to get in touch and your query will be directed to the relevant person.

Role First Name Last Name
Chairman Chris Mabey
Vice-Chairman Robin Delve
Treasurer Miles Earl
Secretary Julie Mahoney
Commissaire Coordinator Nick Crawley
Trophy Coordinator Richard Taylor
Trophy Coordinator Nicky Quant
Website Manager Marcus Durant
County/Regional Coordinators (Somerset) Mark Deakin
County/Regional Coordinators (Devon) Graham Edwards
County/Regional Coordinators (Cornwall) Lester Young
League Standings Coordinator Marcus Durant
Chip Timing Coordinator Mark Deakin
League Women's Rep Jackie Shute
End-of-Season Presentation Coordinator Graham Edwards
League U12s Coordinator Julie Mahoney
League Facebook Coordinator/Admin Graham Garnsworthy
League Equipment Coordinator    
SW Regional Board Representative    
League Photo Co-ordinator Sue McGiven
Committee Member Gary Andrews
Committee Member Martin Smith
Committee Member Darren Armstrong
Committee Member Kari Eilertsen
Committee Member Kris Pratt
Committee Member Barnaby Wright
Committee Member Roy Wyle-Smith
Committee Member Tanya Davies