Commissaire is the generic term for an official in competitive cycling, approximately equivalent to umpires or referees in other sports.  The vast majority of cycling events require two or more commissaires to fulfil a variety of roles, including supervising pre-and post-race formalities, briefing riders and race officials, checking the compliance of equipment, monitoring compliance with the rules and maintaining safety during racing, resolving disputes and judging results.  Sitting as a panel they serve as a "race jury" chaired by the Chief Commissaire to resolve contentious decisions, although this term is now deprecated.  The Chief Commissaire or President of the Commissaires' Panel is the holder of ultimate authority over the event. 

Commissaires' administrative duties include checking riders' eligibility to compete and filing results and reports on race organisation, incidents and penalties.

Cyclo-cross Commissaire

A commissaires role in Cyclo-Cross is quite the same as in Mountain Biking making sure the track is safe, checking equipment, and regulations up to that, keeping track of laps, and short-cutters!

SWCX Commissaire's


The League is always after more volunteers to support the current Team of Commissaires led by Gary Andrews:

Chief Commissaires

  • Graham Edwards
  • Robin Delve
  • Richard Barretto
  • Janet Barretto
  • Nick Lumb
  • Fiona Verney
  • David Hamilton
  • Mark Deakin
  • Alan Drury
  • Andy Parker
  • Gary Andrews
  • Lester Young
  • Roy Wyle Smith
  • Alex King
  • Joseph Harnett
  • Nicholas Crawley
  • Steve Harris

Assistant Commissaires

  • Laurence Heaven
  • Paul Telling