The league will be staged over multiple off-road circuits, promoted in Somerset, Devon and Cornwall. All South West League events are sanctioned and held under British Cycling regulations unless otherwise stated.

For further details on the rules governing such events, please refer to the British Cycling Handbook Cyclo-Cross Regulations.




The South West Cyclo-cross League Committee have been working hard throughout the year to try and get a standardisation of prizes across all events so that we have a minimum standard across all rounds and to promote equality.

We have issued guidelines for use this season by all organisers. These include a minimum prize value for all categories dependant of the number of entrants. Organisers are welcome to increase what they award, but are always asked that they meet the issued requirements as a minimum.


A Guide to Gridding. Many factors will be taken into account when deciding where riders will be gridded.

Information is provided to the event commissaire prior to each event as a guideline. The commissaire on the day will make the final decision on where riders should be gridded.


All competitors, please take note the following important changes for this season. + have a read of this article which explains all the latest information & you need to know all you need to know in one handy read.


The South West Cyclo-cross League ask that all riders adhere to the following code of conduct. By signing your name on the ‘Sign On’ form you are agreeing to the following terms;


Photo opt-out

As a league, we will use photos from events on social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram as well as the league website

Many consider cyclo-cross to be a steeplechase with modified road bikes on a 2.5km to 3.5km course over hill and dale, others consider it muddy hell.  Its roots can be traced to the early 1900s, when French army private Daniel Gousseau would ride his bicycle

So you want to give cyclo-cross a go?  Brilliant!  First things first; you'll need to find an event.  Cyclo-cross races are usually run via local leagues, and the South West League with its roots starting back on 2002 covers the three counties’ of Somerset, Devon and Cornwall.

Enter online 

  •  All events now benefit from online entry via the British Cycling website. Click on the Events tab and follow the link to British cycling.


For the 2019-2020 season the following age categories will apply in British Cyclocross sanctioned cyclo-cross events (effective from 1st September 2019)

This information is derived from the following British Cycling document

Article coming soon :) work in progress


The day will consist of 4 races:


Race 1 - 10:30 


Riders will complete a small course for approximately 10 - 15 minutes.


Race 2 -11:00 


Riders complete a more advanced course, greater in length and with more technical elements for approximately 15 - 20 minutes.


If you are wishing to compete & qualify for overall league standings, please take a moment to read the following information.


  • A maximum of 9 rounds will be counted towards a competitors total point score from the 11 round league.
  • To qualify for the overall league standings and be eligible for a league award, competitors must compete in a minimum of 7 league events.
  • The SW Cyclo-Cross Championships IS NOT a counting round.
  • Points will be awarded to the first 30 finishers in each category, on the basis of,